extreme co-parenting

This afternoon I will drive 238 miles to the beach with Lil’bit and her dad. It will be the first time in over three years that we’ve all been in the car together for more than an hour – significantly longer since just the three of us took a trip together. Over the 13 years we were together, we traveled more than most people I know. Even when flat-ass broke, we found a way to hit the road. When I took out loans for grad school, I included a travel budget. I could never be still, but I also needed roots. There was always somewhere to go – even if it was eight hour discovery walks through Brooklyn led only by a random choice of left or right at every 4th block. We often joked that we would destroy the Amazing Race tv show.

I still travel a good bit with Lil’bit, but day trips are the biggest draw. We can pack a lot into a day. The road keeps my gypsy soul soothed and she seems happier when an adventure is on the horizon. With Lil’bit there are no arguments about how I’m driving or what roads we are taking or when we should stop or for how long, except for her whining when we can’t stay longer at Buc-ee’s, she’s an ideal travel partner. But she’s also eight and still submissive to my whims. Her dad and I traveled well together, but in later years there was inevitably a squabble about something that neither of us could pinpoint the next day. But in a couple hours we will hit the road together again. This time, we will point the car south and drive four hours to a Texas beach.

Upon arrival, we will be greeted by the laughter and hugs of some of the most amazing people we know. My best friends will be there. His girlfriend will be there. Lil’bit’s favorite playmates will be there. Our community of burners is descending to the beach for the weekend, not just to play, but with a mission to clean up a three-mile stretch of beach. In the last year, over 16,000 pounds of trash was removed from the area. Over 200 Kemp’s ridley sea turtles recently hatched in the area and the restoration of the area has been applauded by local authorities. These “mini-burns” all have a theme, this weekend’s Summer Beach Cleanup is “From the Ashes.” Our center art piece (aka effigy) is a phoenix that will go up in fire and pyrotechnics on Saturday night.

I’ve no expectations for the weekend but to reconnect with good people, walk on the beach for hours, and let Lil’bit bury me in the sand. But I also believe it will be a weekend of re-birth. A weekend to recommit to my arts, my spirit, and my child. A weekend to burn off old wounds and long held sadness. A weekend to laugh. A weekend to purge resentment – to let go and start anew. A weekend to know myself better. It is a joyful and anxious adventure that I cannot wait to begin.

2 thoughts on “extreme co-parenting

Leave a Reply

